People often wonder why I don’t trust the government. My normal response is that I don’t know why anyone would.  They have a record unblemished by success.  This statement just confirms that. This is the main reason I have never started a Roth IRA – I know it’s a great deal (retirement money with tax-free appreciation!), but I don’t really believe the government is going to let it stay tax-free long enough for me to enjoy it, especially when they get desperate.  I believe those times are coming soon.

Oh, and I came across the following very interesting quote, given what is currently going on in Washington:

Washington is shifting the burden of bad choices today onto the backs of our children and grandchildren. America has a debt problem and a failure of leadership.  – Senator Barak Obama, 2006

I wonder what the good Senator would think now.  I believe I already know.

