One of the hardest things to deal with, both in getting experience through a job, and in investing directly, is patience. Don’t get me wrong – I’m happy to be back in private equity, and happy to have a good job within a stable company (where I don’t have to fund raise), but I’m getting restless again. The grass is always greener, there’s always something better down the road – you know what I’m talking about? Especially as the frantic and frenzied pace that we’ve been working for the past year (getting a brand new company up to speed and setting up all the processes and procedures to ensure smooth accounting for them) begins to slow down and we start to feel a little more comfortable with where we are at and where we are going. So why would I be restless? For one, I still have a house to sell (been on the market for almost a year now – tough market, and it’s tough to make two house payments every month. Makes me feel like I’m treading water with no actual progress.) For another, I think I’m starting to get bored, which isn’t a good thing either. Three, I’m not getting paid as much as most people at my experience level are, by my own comparisons, and the outlook isn’t great either. Tough to become an angel investor if you don’t have the type of job to make the millions beforehand…

