On a bit of a personal note today, my girls (5 & 7) started soccer. It was a beautiful day, in the 60s and very spring-like. The girls enjoyed themselves, and I had a good time watching them, when they were actually trying. (They seem to give up way too easily – we’ll have to work on that, but they are very good girls.)

So…
I’m about the whitest person you’d ever meet, as a consequence of my Scandinavian heritage. I’m even whiter than my siblings, and at times I’ve been asked, by people that don’t know me, of course, if I’m feeling alright because I “look pale.” So you can imagine how 2 hours in the sun would affect me, even in the early spring. Every year its the same too – I think I’ll be alright, it’s not that bad, and then, bam! I’m as red as a tomato. So the next few days will be fun.

As a friend of mine once said, “I only come in two colors – red and white. And red hurts.” I’m jealous of the folks that don’t have to bathe in sunscreen to be outside for a little while – must be nice…

