Hmm, where to start? I guess I developed an interest in angel investing in B-school. Everyone talked about wanting to work for venture capital firms, and I didn’t even know what they were. Several months later I was hired by a private equity firm, and worked for it and another private equity firm for the next several years. After this experience, I was hooked on investing, but I realized that there was one thing that I lacked to become a great venture capitalist – I don’t really have the ego for it.

To be a truly great venture capitalist, you have to seem as if you have all the money and knowledge in the world, even if it’s not true. It’s all about image in that world – if people think you already have money, they figure you must know how to make it better than they do, and they entrust you with their money. I don’t want to oversimplify it, because it’s still a mammoth task to raise money, but it is all about the image, and I’ve never really been into the political games. Besides, like they say, the more you learn, the more you realize you don’t know. I could never speak with authority because I knew how shaky the assumptions really were. To truly be an expert, you had to be oblivious to the facts, and I just couldn’t do it. So I went my own way.

